American Village in South Korea

I have been meaning to put this up for some time, but I filed the pictures away somewhere in my hard drive and like dog with a new squeaky toy, I got distracted by several things and forgot to post it.

On my last vacation my wife and I went on a driving trip through the southern shores of South Korea. Our first couple of days were at an island called Nam Hae. It’s actually two islands joined together by a bridge which is joined to the mainland by five or six other bridges that are interconnected with other smaller islands in-between.

Anyway it’s really scenic. One of the reasons we went there was because my wife wanted to see the excessively advertised and promoted German Village. It’s a small village built by Koreans who once lived in Germany and they brought back the architecture. I must admit, after living here for 5 years and looking at nothing but skyscrapers and Korean designed houses, it was strange to see a touch of Bavaria dotting the Korean shoreline. It was also strange to see Koreans living like…well…Germans.

Okay I admit it. This is not how they normally dress in the German Village.

 

Here’s me at the German Village:

"Alright I'm in the German Village. Where's the beer?"

And here’s my lovely wife:

Proof that there's a German Village in South Korea

When we were finished walking around and trespassing on people’s property, we got in the car and left.

As we drove to another part of the island, we saw the American Village. We had no idea it was there. It wasn’t on the map and neither I or my wife had ever heard of it. As far as I know, it’s not something that is advertised. So naturally I was buzzing with national pride and had to stop and look.

I’m sure the suspense is killing you by now, so without further delay here are some pics of the…

Just ignore those Korean houses in the background. 😉

Ah, Lady Liberty standing guard in front of an "American" house. It brings a tear to the eye.

Lady Liberty plus some houses. There were about 30 houses in all.

Yes! A Redskins Fan!

I would’ve taken more pictures, but the people who lived in the neighborhood were staring at me in a quasi-paranoid kind of way like they were wondering why I was walking around looking at their houses with a camera. When I noticed their uneasiness, I thought “Wow. This really is like an American suburban neighborhood.”

I was a little worried they were going to call the cops, so we jumped in the car and left.

More to come from our road trip…

Share

About Daniel Cecchini
Daniel Cecchini has a master's degree in History and has published 5 books. He is currently working on the final draft of his first novel, which he has decided to almost completely rewrite from scratch because he likes the pain...

3 Responses to American Village in South Korea

  1. Pingback: A Little Slice of Germany on a Mountainside in South Korea | Clearing Customs

  2. Pingback: A Piece of Germany in South Korea | EUROKULTURE

  3. Hello, I stumbled on your blog while searching for something else 🙂 I know this article has been written a while back and it mentions that you’re working on your first book. I’m only assuming that the book has been published and printed by now ^^ So congratulations!

Leave a Reply

